Psoriasis Guy

Fighting and coping with psoriasis since 1973!

A serious Psoriasis breakout and how I’m beating it!

with 4 comments

I was diagnosed with Psoriasis at age five. I just turned 41 so I’ve lived with the disease for 36 years now.

Slightly over a month ago, I had a serious Psoriasis breakout. In what seemed a few days, the skin on the my arms, legs and torso suddenly disappeared beneath a spreading mass of psoriatic scales. I had no idea what provoked such a severe outbreak but it’s severity inspired a sense of dread and panic. If you don’t suffer from Psoriasis, it’s difficult to understand the emotional and self-esteem issues associated living with the disease. During severe outbreaks, I often become reclusive, uninspired, depressed and anti-social, anti-sexual… It’s kind of a catch 22 since emotional stress tends to make the outbreaks even more severe.

Well this breakout was the worst I’d ever had. It was scary looking at myself and seeing that I had more Psoriasis visible than skin. Luckily my face wasn’t affected, but I was terrified that it would start to spread there as well.

I had beaten my disease into remission in my mid-to-late twenties. In my thirties I had minor outbreaks but it seemed I still had control. In my late thirties, I developed a large patch on my shins and that was the only sign of it until it started suddenly spreading recently. Oddly, the things I had changed to defeat it, I had changed back slowly. I doubted that was mere coincidence.

I’d beaten it once without the use of any medication. Although I was in a state of emotional panic and stress, I wanted to see if I could repeat this now. I wanted to repeat it and document it, hoping that it might help someone out there do the same.

Here is photograph of my leg on February 13th, 2009.

My leg on Feb 13th, 2009

My leg on Feb 13th, 2009. Normally, it has white scaly plaques, but I had just showered and slathered my body with vaseline. Thus it appears red.

The back of my legs, my upper legs & arms and the sides of my torso from hips all the way to my armpits looked that bad, too.

I’m not here to sell anything. I’m not asking for anything from anyone. I’m doing this because I’ve had to live with this disease for over 35 years now, and I sympathize with others who suffer the same. I’m not guaranteeing that what I did will work for anyone else, but it worked for me. I’m also tired of all the people taking advantage of Psoriasis victims with fake cures and I’ve never been a fan of medicine or doctors.

On February 13th, 2009 I decided to make some changes. I’ll be honest, I wasn’t sure if I could replicate what I had done before, but here it is over a month later, and I’m happy to say that it’s working! Here’s a photo I shot today:

My leg March 20, 2009. Clear skies ahead!

My leg March 20, 2009. Clear skies ahead!

I’ll get into how I got such great results in slightly over a month in my next post. Although it’s not hard, it needs explaining and as I write this, it’s 12:45 AM and sleep is overtaking my level of concentration.

Written by luisaguirre

March 20, 2009 at 7:46 am

Posted in psoriasis

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi my P is looking like your I’m 66 year old mil that the doctor told me that there was nothing they can do for my P b/c of my heart condition. Thank You Danny in Arkansas

    Danny

    March 21, 2009 at 2:09 pm

  2. Believe it or not, mine is worse and nothing is helping…please don’t forget those of us still waiting out here to hear how you got those results – or maybe you’re finally free and able to run about in the outside world without judgement and don’t need to bury yourself in your computer anymore.
    still waiting since February….

    Shirl

    May 28, 2009 at 1:35 pm

  3. Thanks, what you’ve down sounds simple and sensible, I’ll give it a whirl :-)

    Shirl

    June 2, 2009 at 5:19 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

